MINOR IN ECONOMICS

Economics at Illinois Tech has a prestigious history that dates back to the late 1800s, with some of the nation's first courses in "Home Economics" and "Household Management" being offered by the Lewis Institute, Stuart's original home, and the Institute's subsequent formation of the Department of Business and Economics in 1926.

Over a period of more than 125 years, harnessing curricular innovations by Julia A. Beveridge and George N. Carman, and incredible scholarly works by trailblazing Illinois Tech scholars Herb A. Simon (author of Administrative Behavior, later awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics), Karl Menger (developer of the St. Petersburg paradox in economics) and Abe Sklar (developer of the Copula in financial modeling), the Stuart School of Business has refined education in the disciplines of economics, finance, analytics, business and public administration, marketing, and management.

A long-standing leader in curricular innovation, in 1990, building on the foundational works of numerous Illinois Tech scholars, and Harold L. Stuart's own contributions to finance and the broader

Required Courses

business community, the Stuart School of Business established quantitative finance as an academic discipline, with a world's first postgraduate Master's program in Financial Markets and Trading – a program that highlighted a new model for embedding into a postgraduate academic program the emphases on career readiness and connectedness with the business community, and transformed business school education.

Today, the Stuart School of Business continues to be a frontier innovator in accredited education, offering academic programs and co-curricular opportunities that place students on the path to selfactualization and career success. Leadership, entrepreneurship, experiential learning, positive societal impact, and connectedness to the business community, combined with a human-centered approach to student development, and an unyielding focus on student success, continue to be core pillars at Stuart. Stuart is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) – an accreditation achieved by fewer than 6% of business schools worldwide.

Code	Title		Credit Hours
BUS 382	Business Economics		3
ECON 151	Microeconomics		3
ECON 152	Macroeconomics		3
ECON 423	Economics of Capital Investments		3
Select a minimum of one course from the following:			3
BUS 321	Optimization and Decision-Making	3	
BUS 452	International Finance	3	
BUS 455	Corporate Finance	3	
Total Credit Hours			15