MINOR IN ENTREPRENEURSHIP

Business and entrepreneurship at Illinois Tech have a prestigious history that dates back to the late 1800s, with some of the nation's first courses in "Home Economics" and "Household Management" being offered by the Lewis Institute, Stuart's original home, and the Institute's subsequent formation of the Department of Business and Economics in 1926.

Over a period of more than 125 years, harnessing curricular innovations by Julia A. Beveridge and George N. Carman, and incredible scholarly works by trailblazing Illinois Tech scholars Herb A. Simon (author of Administrative Behavior, later awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics), Karl Menger (developer of the St. Petersburg paradox in economics) and Abe Sklar (developer of the Copula in financial modeling), the Stuart School of Business has refined education in the disciplines of economics, finance, analytics, business and public administration, marketing, and management.

A long-standing leader in curricular innovation, in 1990, building on the foundational works of numerous Illinois Tech scholars, and Harold L. Stuart's own contributions to finance and the broader

Required Courses

business community, the Stuart School of Business established quantitative finance as an academic discipline, with a world's first postgraduate Master's program in Financial Markets and Trading – a program that highlighted a new model for embedding into a postgraduate academic program the emphases on career readiness and connectedness with the business community, and transformed business school education.

Today, the Stuart School of Business continues to be a frontier innovator in accredited education, offering academic programs and co-curricular opportunities that place students on the path to selfactualization and career success. Leadership, entrepreneurship, experiential learning, positive societal impact, and connectedness to the business community, combined with a human-centered approach to student development, and an unyielding focus on student success, continue to be core pillars at Stuart. Stuart is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) – an accreditation achieved by fewer than 6% of business schools worldwide.

Total Credit Hours		15
ECON 423	Economics of Capital Investments	3
ECON 211	Introduction to Economics	3
BUS 469	Entrepreneurship Capstone	3
BUS 371	Marketing Fundamentals	3
BUS 210	Introduction to Accounting	3
Code	Title	Credit Hours
-		

A maximum of three courses may be shared between the Business minor and the Entrepreneurship minor.